Snipit: Standing in the Face of a Lion

by Karen Houston

lionThere have been times where I am unable to go to sleep, my mind runs on and on.  Left unchecked, I will not get much sleep and be drained the next day.  When I stop and take authority against Satan’s oppression, I can quickly drift off to sleep.  He can’t oppress my spirit, but he can affect my body.  We have to recognize that and take authority over him.  Satan will use anything in his means to steal our joy or make us ineffective for the Lord. 

1 Peter 5:8-9 (New King James Version)

8 Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil walks about like a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour. 9 Resist him, steadfast in the faith, knowing that the same sufferings are experienced by your brotherhood in the world.

The key here word for us in verse 8 is “may” devour, it doesn’t say can devour.  Satan can only demonize us if we let him.  Verse 9 tells us how to keep him at bay, resist means to stand up against, we should remain firm in the Christian faith, obedient to God’s truths.  The lion can roar, but when we walk with the Lord we can stand and face him with no fear!

